We’ve all heard it before:

 “Don’t leave the milk out for too long, it’ll spoil!”

or

“Why is the milk still on the table? I told you, it’ll spoil!”

or

“How many times do I have to tell you?! Put the milk in the fridge!”

or

“Hello? Are you listening to me?! Heeellooooo???”

Or maybe just the first one…

Point is – If you leave things waiting for too long, something bad’s bound to happen. Keep that in mind for later.

I heard a gem of a statement the other day while listening to the Fasting & Furious lecture by Shaykh Muhammad Alshareef. It was,

“We don’t need motivation to do the things we love. So what’s holding us back from loving the Qur’an? From wanting to pray taraweeh? From loving Allah?”

(Pretty powerful stuff that I think says enough on it’s own but I gotta ramble so…)

Nothing holds us, or should I say me personally, back from logging into my gmail account to chat. I don’t think twice before doing things that I enjoy. 

But what about those things that we should enjoy and are just putting to the back of our minds, for comfort’s sake? For that, I think we’re all in need of re-evaluating our priorities every once in a while. What’s really more important to us? Maybe the reason behind our excuses of ‘I don’t have time’ or ‘I’m too tired’ is simply because, well, as painful as it is to admit it – maybe we just don’t care enough. Once you get to the root of the problem and fix it, the rest will be history insha Allah.

And what about those things that we don’t enjoy but really should get done with already?

Ahh the perils of procrastination… I could probably write a book on that topic, simply based off of all the times I’ve fallen into the habit and got myself into holes deeper than I could climb out of, and done it again. But I won’t. Instead, I’ll share a tip a special person once shared with me:

“For all the things that you hate doing, just imagine if you died today. Think of who would have to do the task after you. How do you feel about that?”

For example, let’s just say a certain someone has been putting off cleaning her room (yeah, okay fine, it’s me again). Imagining someone else coming to tidy up my room, picking up all my clothes off the floor, putting everything away, etc. after my death scheduled in 24 hours (which is already scary by itself!) is enough to make me snap out of my chair and pick up the vacuum cleaner.

Where in your life do you have milk waiting to be put away? And if not now, when are you going to do it? Remember, you’ve got 24 hours. Maybe.

 

